This photograph was published in the Silverwood Gazette of 20th March 1909.
“Within easy reach of the North Pine Railway Station, with which it is connected by daily coach, Terror’s Creek is one of the most prosperous dairying centres in the North Coast district. The factory of the Silverwood Company…serves not only the surrounding settlers, but also the more distant communities of Samsonvale and Mount Mee…Terror’s Creek, which is well portrayed in our illustration this month, is both picturesque and flourishing, and its surroundings include views of many comfortable farms, whose owners are amongst the chief suppliers of the Silverwood Factory, which may be seen on the left of the picture.”
It was also printed as a postcard. We have in our collection a postcard dated 4th February 1909 sent to Miss G.A. Bond at Paddington. “To Grace With love from Iris”. As Grace had only celebrated her first birthday on 26th January, it may have been sent as a birthday card.
The building in the foreground was the original creamery constructed in 1896. It has been extended and is now occupied by Entangled Café. The building near the bend in the road is now occupied by The Old Storehouse. The new Orange Hall and the original Crown Hotel and store can be seen in the background.