1946 QATB Silver Jubilee Deb Ball

1946 QATB Silver Jubilee Deb Ball

Back Row (left to right:  Reita Brown, Noela Shale, June Heathwood, Mrs. Shale (seated) 

Iris McKay, Helen Ross, Edna McKay

Front Row:   Maisie Brown, Delcia Brown (flowergirl), Belsie Heathwood

The Queensland Country Life of 23rd April 1946 reported “…Twenty-one debutantes were presented to Mr. V. Drury, president of the Q.A.T.B. Executive Committee by Mrs. E.G. Shale, president of the ladies’ entertainment committee of Dayboro Centre, at its silver jubilee ball.

Supt. J. Glasheen announced the names of the debutantes:  Misses Noela Shale, Audrey Wirth, Doreen Warburton, Maisie Brown, Helen Anderson, May Dowling, Marjorie Kriesch, June Heathwood, Rita Brown, Joyce Chambers, Gwen Fogg, Iris Anderson, Nell Pettigrew, Iris McKay, Nell Winkel, Belsie Heathwood, Clarice McKenzie, Ailsa Salisbury, May Baker, Helen Ross, and Edna McKay.”

The photograph was taken in front of the Stationmaster’s residence.  The Butter Factory and Charlie McGahey’s Garage are visible in the background.